A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education indeed plays an important role in shaping the future of a children by providing them with the basic qualities and adequate skill-sets needed to live a comfortable and successful life. Children are the future of a country, they are the key to the development of a country. Framing a curriculum is a vital task for a nation as it will lead the children to a better learning in school. The author presents us with the view that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

National curriculum seems like an ideal condition for the education of children in a country. It will provide a same platform for all the students in the country, to study the same courses, and develop the same skills, get the same knowledge and have the same opportunities. It will benefit the students of rural areas as they will be studying the same courses as of the metro cities, which will definitely help them to get into a good college, and eventually a better job. National curriculum will ensure that the teaching methods, grading pattern, and evaluation will be same for all the students. Ensuring a national curriculum will mean that all the students can compete on a national level, if there is a single entrance test for the college admissions, rather than giving multiple test for several states.

However, having a same national curriculum in a country has its foibles. It may pose a economical challenge to adopt a national curriculum, especially in the rural areas where they will need a infrastructure to meet the demands of national curriculum. Its going to be difficult for the students with physical disabilities who are getting special education to keep up with the other students. A national curriculum will focus more on core courses such as Maths and Science, and leave no option for the students who are least interested in studying these courses. It may lead to depression in students as they wont be able to cope up with pressure of the courses and their parents who wants their children to get good grades. What will happen after secondary education. Many would argue that there is great benefit in learning arts and commerce. Some parents may want their children to learn foundry or carpentry, and be physically active in sports. Will there be room for vocational courses in the secondary education. Children of immigrants from other countries also studies in the school. It may pose a language barrier for them to get the equal education.

Eventually, we will be needing to make some compromises in the idea of national curriculum. It would be a good to have same national curriculum till eight grade, which will focus on reading, writing, maths and science for the development of same skills and knowledge. Then the next four years of school, the schools can have their own curriculum regulated by the state in which students can focus on core courses along with the vocational courses in their area of interest, that they want

to pursue in college.