A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education indeed plays an important role in development of an individual. It shapes us into an informed human, especially when we are in our most malleable phase. Therefore, it is equally important to structure the education with utmost sincerity. The author presents his view that school education should be uniform throughout the nation and I agree with the statement taking assumption that change in curriculum comprises change in subjects too.

When a child joins school and becomes a student, he is not aware of the importance of school and what he wants to do with his life and that’s how it should be. Many students go to school only due to the pressure they get from their teachers and parents, they only study to get rewards or maybe to impress their peers, parents and teachers and with no regard of their future. So, should the school burden the delicate shoulder of a young boy or girl with one of most important decision which can change his or her life? No, but the school should prepare him to make this decision when he gets older and is ready. School should prepare him for that by giving knowledge across different area and not in depth in only one. Some may argue that he can still take the help from his parents or teachers to select the curriculum, but it will beat the purpose of having specialized subjects based on student’s interest.

Keeping the curriculum same will also ensure that our hypothetical school going student gets the same and uniform education no matter where he is from. Be it the small classroom of a village school, or the air-conditioned classroom of metropolis. It will help the instructors to grade uniformly too. Also, It is better to have some knowledge in different areas. The scientists who have created sophisticated and advanced robots are only able to do so after amalgamating knowledge from different areas like anatomy, mechanics and robotics. When our hypothetical student will join engineering college, he will need the knowledge of basic writing skills to write reports or publish research papers.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement of creating a uniform curriculum and suggest that it would be even better if school starts giving some flexibility to select among the much broader fields like accounts, engineering or medical once students join high school and have some maturity to decide.