A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The blanket statement adresses the need of having the nation instilling a curriculum, however stating that it should be identical in every state is an overstatement. As an educator, I do believe the nation needs to have an outline of what the students need to know, but there is no need for it be identical in every state because in every state is different. For instance, today, we have the Common Core State Standars, they give teachers guidance on what to teach, and when to teach it. As a teacher on gets an idea of what the students should know at every grade level. This is great because it gives a sense of cohesiveness among the state. However, instilling a replicated curriculum nationwide might be going too far. Within each state the demographics, population, and culture is different, and this applies to each state in every country, making the country the countries educational needs diverse. Which is why within each state, schools are separated into different school districts. Each school district has different demographics and economical status, and this plays a big factor in the individualize need of every student, hence affecting the curriculum. Which is why as a school district, educators look at all the different curriculums and choose the best one for the needs of their students in each school district. It needs to be stressed that the nation needs to instill structure in education curriculum, but when it comes to mandating what curriculum, it needs to be done by the district to choose the best curriculum for the needs of their students.

With Common Core, each state has the same standards to look upon for guidance. This is to make sure every student is learning the same thing thing in most sates (since not all states have adopted commmon core). Here is where we could find some cohesiveness in educational learning. American History, and The Pledge of Allegiance, are things that all students should have a clear knowledge of, in this aspect, yes, every students in each state should be learning about this, because it is history about their country. However, this could be done with different curriculums, it doesn't necessarily need to be the same in each state. Even withing cities, student academic achievement can differ vastly. For instance, a student from the north side of town; is a great reader, parents are involved, and needs more rigor in their academic learning. This is were a rigorous curriculum comes into play, and the student in the north side along with his classmates, can benefit from this curriulum. Then there is a student from the south side of town; phonetically challenged, lacks parent support, and needs faciitated curriulum. It is safe to assume that the south side student and his classmates will need need a curriculum that meets their academic needs. However, we are talking about students from the same school district, and here is where electing a curriculum become a delicate matter. The school district needs to choose a curriculum, that can be manipulated to beceom ambiguous for the needs of all students.

Given this example, it can be applied to any state in any nation. Which is why, curriculum shuld not be the same in all states, it needs to be at the needs of each individual school district.