In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

The question of whether a work of art, be it a film, novel or poem must be understandable to most of the people to have merit is a very complex and subjective matter. For broader appreciation of arts, accessibility is a crucial requirement but establishing equity between merit and the understandability of art by broader audience oversimplifies the diversity of arts.

First and foremost, a work of art is a medium of communication through which artists express their emotions and thoughts. It is obviously important that the work of an artist is understood by most of the people as it can connect people from diverse backgrounds through commonality in cultures. For example, the novels or films on romances or family relations has a great impact on making people understand the cultures of different parts of the world and form a connection between diverse cultures.

However, understanding the art is necessary but there can be some works which are made to challenge the accepted notions or put forward new ideas. Such works can not be understood by most of the people but it does not mean that the work has no merit. For instance, there are many poems or novels that have introduced revolutionary ideas but understood by people much later than it was produced. There can be diverse opinions about a single work, so connecting the merit of an artform with understanding of that is a bit much.

Furthermore, A variety of artworks are present that require prior knowledge to understand them such as musics have variety of forms that are likable by different groups of people and it do not reduce the merit of the artwork. Even if an art is accesible by broad audience, it can be difficult for the artist to make his work understandable to all if the audience has not the prior knowledge required.

In conclusion, art should be accesible and understood by broad audience as it helps to extend people's boundary of thoughts. But linking the art's merit to people understandability is very oversimplified notion as the art is a very diverse field. Ultimately, the work's merit should be accessed based on it's ability to provoke emotion and opinions though it is understood by a smaller audience.