All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Consultancy is the seeking of advice or opinions from a particular person or body based on their experience or knowledge. Some people argue that consultancy would be unnecessary if companies spend more time listening to their own employess, but others would state that external consultancy is a necessary ingredient for growth and development of a company. After weighing all evidences, it is clear that external consultancy is well very important for company efficient operation. External people in most situations see very differently from people in a situation.

Consider for example, the case of a school such as a college or university and the setting up the Parent Teacher Association called the (PTA). The employees in a institution of learning are teachers who have been renowned as one of the smartest profession. The population of teachers in the school should have enough source for consultation for its effective running based on their insight and knowledge, yet the school still set up a PTA made of external people, the parents, in order to help in providing advices and views on how the school can be ran more efficiently. The teacher doesnt know the best time a particular student assimilates or the reason a sparticular child is always grumpy in school.

Like the case of the PTA, lets examine a football match and also one of the reasons for substitution. There have been several situations were substitutes have been called 'game changers' because they come into the game and made their impact known. These players had it easy for them becaiuse they have studied the game for a period of time from the sidelines and observed point of weakness of the opposition, things that his fellow teammates cant notice because their minds have been preoccupied and fatigued with the actual pressure of the game to actually think of innovative and alternate solutions to winning the game, coupled with advices of the technical staff, the substitute is very specific and focused on what to do once he comes on.

Those that argue that consultancy would be unnecessary if companies spend more time listening to their own employees may cite the probable point that those outside the system might not know the intricacies and indepth analysis of the situation at hand that will make them abreast enough to profer effective solutions or advices and that only the people in the system can have this incisive knowledge. But if enough information is present in forms of data and figures, or whatever required form and the external consultants are experienced in this particular field, worse still the people in the system might actually be blind to some alternative solutions because they have been focused on one particular path maybe based on their experience. A pair or pairs of fresh unclouded eyes would be better off at seeing clearly as evidenced in the case of substitutes and the PTA.

In conclusion, based on the cases of the PTA in the school and the various impactful substitutes in football matches, it is evident that outside consultancy is very much necessary if a company is to operate efficiently.