As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement linking technology negatively with free thinking plays on recent human

experience over the past century. Surely there has been no time in history where the lived

lives of people have changed more dramatically. A quick reflection on a typical day reveals

how technology has revolutionized the world. Most people commute to work in an

automobile that runs on an internal combustion engine. During the workday, chances are

high that the employee will interact with a computer that processes information on silicon

bridges that are .09 microns wide. Upon leaving home, family members will be reached

through wireless networks that utilize satellites orbiting the earth. Each of these common

occurences would have been inconceivable at the turn of the 19th century.

The statement attempts to bridge these dramatic changes to a reduction in the

ability for humans to think for themselves. The assumption is that an increased

reliance on technology negates the need for people to think creatively to solve

previous quandaries. Looking back at the introduction, one could argue that

without a car, computer, or mobile phone, the hypothetical worker would need to

find alternate methods of transport, information processing, and communication.

Technology short circuits this thinking by making the problems obsolete.

However, this reliance on technology does not necessarily preclude the creativity that marks

the human species. The prior examples reveal that technology allows for convenience. The

car, computer, and phone all release additional time for people to live more efficiently. This

efficiency does not preclude the need for humans to think for themselves. In fact, technology

frees humanity to not only tackle new problems, but may itself create new issues that did not

exist without technology. For example, the proliferation of automobiles has introduced a need

for fuel conservation on a global scale. With increasing energy demands from emerging markets,

global warming becomes a concern inconceivable to the horse-and-buggy generation. Likewise

dependence on oil has created nation-states that are not dependent on taxation, allowing ruling

parties to oppress minority groups such as women. Solutions to these complex problems require

the unfettered imaginations of maverick scientists and politicians.

In contrast to the statement, we can even see how technology frees the human

imagination. Consider how the digital revolution and the advent of the internet has

allowed for an unprecedented exchange of ideas. WebMD, a popular internet portal

for medical information, permits patients to self research symptoms for a more

informed doctor visit. This exercise opens pathways of thinking that were previously

closed off to the medical layman. With increased interdisciplinary interactions,

inspiration can arrive from the most surprising corners. Jeffrey Sachs, one of the

architects of the UN Millenium Development Goals, based his ideas on emergency

care triage techniques. The unlikely marriage of economics and medicine has healed

tense, hyperinflation environments from South America to Eastern Europe.

This last example provides the most hope in how technology actually provides

hope to the future of humanity. By increasing our reliance on technology, impossible

goals can now be achieved. Consider how the late 20th century witnessed the

complete elimination of smallpox. This disease had ravaged the human race since

prehistorical days, and yet with the technology of vaccines, free thinking humans

dared to imagine a world free of smallpox. Using technology, battle plans were drawn

out, and smallpox was systematically targeted and eradicated.

Technology will always mark the human experience, from the discovery of fire to the

implementation of nanotechnology. Given the history of the human race, there will be

no limit to the number of problems, both new and old, for us to tackle. There is no need

to retreat to a Luddite attitude to new things, but rather embrace a hopeful posture to

the possibilities that technology provides for new avenues of human imagination.