The following is the memorandum from the business manager from a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of . weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that the business manager is urging the television station employees to restore the time devoted to weather and local news, which they had in the past, stating that they are losing viewers and advertisers.As per my view, this argument stands on an unsubstantiated assumptions and requires specific evidences to evaluate the same.

Firstly, the manager has not stated the time devoted to national news and time devoted to local and weather news, before the past year and in this year. This will help in knowing the change of time duration and gauge if the change is significant enough to lose viewers who are only interested in local and weather news. Also, the timing of the day when these programs will be aired is not specified. It may happen that they are reducing the time devoted to local news and airing the program when there is less viewer requirement, for example in the late night or early morning before dawn. This may cause the viewers to assume that local news is not getting covered at all.

Secondly, complaints of viewers before this time period is required. This will help us know the nature of complaints and if there is a substancial increase in the complaints related to local news and weather only. If the majority of complaints before this time period were also about the station's coverage of weather and local news then the argument to restore time devoted to local and weather news will be weakened significantly. This can be strengthened by keeping a check on the quality of content delivered in the programs. A poll must be conducted which can help get a review of the programs by the viewers. This will help the station to understand the likes/dislikes of the viewers and will help draw plans to attract the viewers back.

Lastly , more information is required as to why the local businesses have canceled thier advertiseing contracts. There may be many reasons why they must have canceled like loss of popularity of the television station among local people, poor advertising strategies, the advertising budget of the local businesses among others.Also, the timings when the ads are aired should also be considered. A feedback from the local business should be obtained to understand the reason behind the cancelation of their ads,

In conclusion, the argument needs more evidences to evaluate.