People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

People’s attitudes are static towards some matter and dynamic towards some matter. But the determinant of attitude is not restricted to immediate situations, surroundings or society rather it is a combination of current circumstances and one’s own social learning towards a particular topic or matter and I believe the society as a whole influence more than the immediate situation or surroundings in shaping attitude.

No doubt that the present state of a human being has a significant impact on his or her attitude but it is not the prime catalyst. Consider, a boss, in an office as an example; when he or she is in a good mood, might pardon any mistake of his or her employee and the opposite could also happen when the boss is upset or already angry for some reason. In this context, the attitude of the boss towards that particular employee has developed from the instant mental situation of the boss himself or herself. Similarly, it is true for the employee also because the attitude of the boss towards the employee would also determine the employee’s perception of the boss. Hence, it can be said that momentary action can determine one’s attitude towards others.

However, people learn valuable lessons and norms from the society they belong to, and it has a greater impact on developing their attitudes. For example, a person growing up in a liberal society will come to know the benefits of capitalism and it is probable if not obvious that he/she will be a patron of the capitalist economy. On the other hand, a socialist society or a centrally planned economy will have a different impact on their habitants, they will most likely deject capitalism. Moreover, the “attitude” grown from the social structure is less vulnerable to change from momentary influence. That means a socialist cannot be converted to a capitalist overnight. Again a society which promotes peace and cooperation will likely to produce peaceful and patient human beings whereas hate promoting society may supply war-prone generations.

Similarly, people learn daily habits from their society which in turn develop their attitude towards a particular matter. For instance, a vegetarian society, where meat is extremely prohibited, contains an exclusive view of animals. To them, killing animals for eating is a great sin and people from those societies conserve this view anywhere. They may move to any place where eating anything is allowed, however, their movement or joining a new surrounding will not be enough provocative to accept meat because it is a long-held belief from his society.

To sum up, it can be said that people’s attitudes may develop from the current situation but this type of attitude is dynamic and changes frequently. However, it is not the case always, especially when it comes to long-held learning or belief of one’s society and people tend to stick to their social norms and learnings.