People who are most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it

The statement claims that people who are the proponent of an idea or a policy are the most critical about it. Before one can agree or disagree with the statement one has to define what does "critical" mean. Does it mean people have to be analytical about it or questioning about it so as to develop it more before presenting it. One can partially disagree with the statement for many reasons which are discussed below.

since many generation, people from time to time have come up with many ideas and policies throughout the history, and one might have worked day and night to conceive an idea, let alone develop it. These people might be biased towards the idea or policy and would not be so critical. These people might not have asked questions to themselves over the various repercussion of the idea. Since they have worked very hard on the idea, they would not be as critical as their peers might be.

However sometimes people would have done extensive work on the matter and become experts in the idea or the policy that they want to propose and are confident that they can the solve the problems that might occur in future if the its implemented. These people would have worked out various model or process of the idea and are sure that it will yield desirable results. For example Prime minister of India has announced "make in India" campaign, with the main goal of making India the production hub of the world, for this he might have done several research, read studies and conducted surveys and finally came to a conclusion to implement it. This policy not only would make India a production hub, but also decrease the unemployment rate. All these probable outcomes may have made him confident of his idea.

Therefore one might claim that people who come up with an idea or policy might not be so critical about it unless they have studied the repercussions of its implementation and the consequences that would follow.