"People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decision-making is an important characteristic that an individual should have within them. We are challenged to decide for every step that we take to shape our lives. In such a scenario if we make decisions based on emotion, they might lead to a wrong path which will cause regret for an individual.

I agree with the given prompt as I've seen situations where emotion-based decisions have turned out to be bad. For example, when a child constantly scribes about wanting to eat sweet candies every day, the mother out of love finally caves in and starts giving him sweets. A few weeks later the child starts complaining about toothache. After a thorough check-up with the dentist, the child and mother get to know about the multiple cavities that have been formed over time due to excessive candies. Instead of giving candies every day, the mother could appease the child by setting some restrictions on the number of candies per week.

Another such scenario is when students have to choose a field for graduation. Applying for a course based on its popularity among the students and the highest-paying job in the market can be a bad decision. You need to check the curriculum of the course if you have an affinity for the subjects and are interested in making a career in the field.

Such decisions fueled by emotions may lead to a path in life that we may regret later on. Logical decisions even if tough to make should be taken based on the outcome that will benefit in the future.