The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager of the television station states that because they have been losing advertising contracts and receiving complaints after making a shift in the content of their late-night news programs, they must shift to their previous levels of coverage of weather and local news. This statement has various different assumptions which does not make a very convincing argument.

It has been mentioned that the late-night news program has started devoting more time to national news over the past year as compared to before. This has led to devotion of lesser time to weather and local news. However, it fails to mention whether the shift has had a normalizing effect on the content. For example, it might have been that earlier, more than required time was being devoted to local and weather news and there was a need for more national news to be aired. So, devoting more time to national news instead of local and weater news was much required. It also fails to mention whether this shift has garnered an increase or a decrease in the number of viewers. Without there being data which records the change in numbers of viewers, it is difficult to say that coverage of more national news has caused a negative effect on the viewership.

Morever, it is mentioned that there have been complaints regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. Again, there is nothing that proves that these complaints have been against decreasing the coverage time for the local and weather news. Perhaps, the reporters for the local news were changed over the past year and the viewers were not happy with the current reporters and they lodged complaints for change of reporters. This does not necessarily prove that they want more coverage of the local news. Or perhaps, over the last year, they have realized that they want even lesser coverage of weather and local news and would like more coverage of the national news since maybe, the nation is going through a national turmoil and they wish to remain updated about it. Hence, just the statement about the complaints regarding the station's coverage of local and weather news does not really tell us what the content of the complaints are and whether they really oppose the shift in the station's coverage decisions or they support it.

Also, local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts for advertisement during the late-night news program. The author fails to mention the reason for their cancellation or even provide an analysis into their cancellation. Maybe, the advertising agencies have cancelled their contracts because the news station had violated clauses of the contract by not airing the advertisements for enough time. Or it could be that these local businesses have incurred losses of their own and cannot afford advertising for themselves. Whatever the reason might be, there is not enough proof to deduce that the cancellation of contracts has been because the station started devoting more time to the coverage of national news and not local and weather news.

As a result of these discrepancies in the arguments and the assumptions made in concluding that the news station must restore their time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, the conclusion fails to be convincing.