A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labour.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every society has certain rules put in place to ensure the smooth functioning of the society. These rules, when broken, entail different consequences and penalties which vary with different kinds of crimes. These penalties are supposed to be negative incentives, meant to dissuade people from comitting crimes. Although it is necessary to have laws and penalties for an orderly society, questions about the appropriate magnitude of punishment often become the center of debates. When someone knowingly commits a crime, they are fully aware of the consequences that they will have to face if they are caught. However, is the suspension of civil rights and the right to benefit from labour really an appropriate consequence in all cases?

Consider the cases of petty theft, shoplifting or piracy of software. Although the offender has indeed deviated from the social contract that all citizens are expected to follow, she has not caused any grave damage or physical harm to the victim. In such a case, suspending the offender's civil rights and not allowing her to benefit from her labour is an extreme measure. Instead, a milder punishment like a fine or completing some hours of community service might be a better option.

Similarly, drivers who violate traffic rules are also aware of the fact that they have commited a crime. However, as long as the violater has not caused an accident or led to any loss of life or physical harm, is it really appropriate to impose such a harsh punishment on her for merely running a red light? If such punishments were meted out in all cases of traffic rule violations, every second or third driver would have to face unfairly severe consequences.

There are also some laws which interfere in the private lives of citizens. For example, in some countries like India, acts of unnatural sexual intercourse are illegal. Yet, both homosexual as well as heterosexual couples knowingly engage in such acts. They are not causing any damage to anyone, and everything that they are doing in such a situation is only giving them satisfaction. Often, there are such laws which if repealed would lead to an increase in the overall utlity of the society. Can flouting these laws really be considered a crime? Even if it is technically a crime, does it deserve such a draconian punishment for something as simple as love?

The above examples all show that suspension of civil rights and the right to benefit from labour are extreme consequences in most cases. Although it is true that such grave penalties are required to deter people from comitting serious crimes like murder, they are a bit too harsh to be imposed for any and every crime. I believe that if the magnitude of the punishment imposed is proportional to the seriousness of the crime comitted, we might have a better and more fair system of punishing criminals. In fact, this will also give offenders a chance to reflect on their actions, turn over a new leaf and live a better life, which they would not have got had their civil rights been suspended for comitting a minor crime.