A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The crime rates has always been increasing over time in spite of the strictest actions and laws. With the advent of new technologies and inventions, the criminals find new ways to infringe into the system. The situation only depends on who is thinking one step ahead - the makers or the breakers? Once the flaw gets exposed or opportunity seems handy, any individual can get the notion of committing crime even if he is not a criminal by profession.

The issue here of depriving criminals of civil rights seems to be exaggerated. It wholly depends on the type of crime one commits. Even downloading illegal material online is a crime and most of the people are involved in it. If all these people are expunged from the society, there will be no society at first place! Also it has to be noted that even if the actions against criminals are made stricter it won't intimidate those who are already into this business since the laws are already too strict. By depraving the criminals of their civil rights may not make much difference in the present rates of crime.

Having said that, some serious issues like rape, murder, big scams etc do need to be looked upon more assiduously and such grave acts should be punished as harshly as possible to set an example for others. In this case it is right to take away the basic rights and they should not be allowed to earn from their labor. By initiating this course of action, the culprits would not be able to further pursue their life on unseemly course and would be allowed to live abstemiously by the law.

To recapitulate, there has to be some margin for which clemency can be rendered and above that, this strict course of action needs to be applied. The crimes should be accordingly distributed over the margin.