The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the past century, the advancements in technology have been happening at an extremely fast pace. These advancements helped mankind to realize the dreams which were once considered chimerical. These advancements have been multifarious : some helped to make humans more productive and there have been some other advancements which helped humans explore new possibilities. while I do agreee to some extent that advancements in technology increases the people's efficiency, I disagree with the assumption that making more leisure time is the primary gaol of these new inventions and advancements for two reasons.

To begin, If the humans in the recent past , after inventing a small piece of technology which resulted in an increase in people's efficiency, became complacent and wasted their leisure time, would the today's world be what it is today? I think that it is imperative for the mankind to keep innovating by taking the help of past advancements. For example, before the invention of a calculator, humans used to perform the calculations entirely with the help of a pen and paper. Once the caluclators became the mainstream devices for performing calculations, the efficiency of the people has definitely increased and people would have got some leisure time. However, using this calculator , man used his ability to perform much more complex operations to discover and innovate further rather than sitting idle.

Furthermore, not all the advancements are aimed at increasing the people's efficiencty. There are some advancements done which aid the very existence of human beings. For example, without the advancements in medical science, the life expectancy of a person would not have increased from low 50s in the past to high 60s today. In the past, there were virtually no cures of many of the diseases and people used to succumb to what we consider a minor illness in today's world. However, the medical science has advanced to an extent of replacing a heart with an artificial one. There have also been numerous space exploration projects which are aimed to find a new home for the human race citing that the earth may become inhabitable in the near future.

In conclusion, superficially, the goal of technological advancements tends to increase people's efficiency, but the ultimate goal of the these advancements to aid the humans to innovate further and keep the humans healthy and extant.