Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A university education should be provided free of charge to all interested scholars.

use examples and reasons to support your position

The issue at hand is if all scholars who are interested in university education should be given free education. The topic is important as it is about students who are the future of the nation. In my opinion, I believe that university education should not be free for every scholar. I am of this opinion for a number of reasons.

First, I believe if all students that have this interest are given free education, it might put a financial strain on the institution. The institution will have to pay tuition for almost every student and this money will not be recovered. There are many people who work in institutions such as lecturers, non-teaching staff and many more. These workers would need to be paid and the institution will need money for the day-to-day activities of the institution, it might become difficult for the university to continue due to lack of income from the part of the students.

Another reason why I believe that university education should not be free is that the students might not value what they are given. Most of the time, humans appreciate and know the value of whatever they are paying for and if they are given for free, they might not get to appreciate the value. For example, some scholars will not pay attention to their studies and end up with extra years without caring as they will not have to pay for them.

Additionally, other sectors in the country might suffer if everyone interested in school is given the chance. Sometimes, scholars’ inability to pay tuition fee in university gives them the chance to explore another field in which they eventually become really successful. For example, Wizkid, a renowned musician in Nigeria had to drop out of school and explored music due to his inability to sponsor his university education. He became quite successful and he is one of the best artists that Nigeria has produced. He might not have explored music if he was given free university education and might have ended up not realizing his full potential. The music industry in Nigeria too might have not had the chance to have someone like that and this applies to other sectors too.

Ultimately, scholars should be made to pay for their studies as they tend to value it more and put in their best. The university or government will also not have to incur the financial strain of sponsoring all interested students to school. It is because of these reasons that I believe that University education should not be free for everyone interested.