Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement that scandals are useful in focusing people’s attention to certain problems comes from the fact that they are often about exciting and incendiary topics. There is no doubt that big scandals are very effective in grabbing people’s attention by being “newsworthy”. Big scandals can be something that everyone talks about, inviting diverse opinions and actions of the community members. However, we have to be careful to examine not only what kind of information the scandal is spreading, but also what the quality of the information is. In this essay, I argue that scandals fail to focus people’s attention on more important issues, and that it rather overshadows the important topics that need to be discussed with other scandalous news.

As the entertainment industry develops, one of the most scandalous topics in our society is the private lives of celebrities. We want to know what happens to celebrity marriages or celebrity breakups, and debate, often with a lack of any credible source of information, whether which of the couple is more to blame. Often, celebrity scandals have been used as a way to cover up important political news in society. For example, when the divorce between Song Hye-gyo and Song Joong-ki was first announced to the South Korean fans, every news outlet was covering the news and dominating all the main South Korean search engine portals. Meanwhile, the South Korean government has reached an important decision to raise taxes on houseowners, and an important tax-related scandal of a prominent politician was being questioned in the House of Representatives. Therefore, scandals can be a major distraction from more important social and political issues, which divert the direction of social discussion from the topics that really matter.

Another weakness of scandals is that they often times fail to represent accurate information. Because scandals are discussed by a great number of people at once, the facts are often exaggerated as they get delivered from one mouth to another. Also, many news outlets who want to grab people’s attention instantly, post articles with click-bait titles that can are very exaggerated or misleading. With false information and exaggerated accounts of what actually happened, scandals confound people’s discussion of the event. As a result, scandals can be very divisive, causing the society to form two or more opposing points of view.

To be sure, in the news industry these days, there is no choice but the news titles and contents to be more attention-grabbing to focus people’s attention. With the flow of an infinite amount of news articles and information floating around the Internet, it is understandable why some would argue that we would have to go far as to use “scandals” to grab people’s attention on important matters. However, raising people’s awareness on important social issues shouldn’t be just predicated on the first step of attracting people’s attention. After the first step of grabbing people’s attention, there is a much more important step of learning, discussing and taking action. With misinformation and exaggerated facts, a meaningful discussion and learning cannot take place in our society. In conclusion, news should always aim to seek for more appropriate ways to grab people’s attention by providing the public with what is truly newsworthy. Scandalous and incendiary news accounts do more harm than good to the society.