Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Thomas fuller rightly said that A lie has no leg, but a scandal has wings.

This is a two-edged sword sharper on one side. A scandal might bring attention but at great risk of being wrong

A scandal spurns a story that is titillating and commands the attention of mass but is prone to modifications by the narrator and the transmitters. Modifications can be unintentional or intentional depending on the interests of the teller. It can lead from defiling of the long earned reputation of a hard-working person by making an evil of him in front of the whole nation like in case of rea chokrobothy to full-blown riots. They can turn friends into enemies in the blink of an eye and using which the gullible can be enticed. On being wrong, it can lead to great economic loss and even wars.

One can commend the speed of the phenomena of the spread of scandals but one should also remember that even the slight change of grammar can lead to unintended disasters.it brings attention but can be misused by the conniving to spread lies and cause folly. A benefit of it can be bringing attention to the wrong deeds like the one involving the head of the commonwealth games committee for the Delhi games 2010 who misused funds, but the attention was on only one person while the roots of such a misdeed lie deep and for sure many who were involved far deeply escaped. This does put pressure on the concerned authorities but let's be real, that system is not an organized one.

The national media plays a humongous role in this. They can tilt the scale to a side of their liking. Hence the government plays a gigantic role. There should be a sensible rule for censorship. There is a cost of government following their own agenda but there is also a benefit of avoiding suicides due to marred reputation and civil war.