Scandals -whether in politics,academia, or other areas-can be useful.they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could

Scandals brings into limelight the issues of the society that have been overlooked in the past.During the course of progression of the society, numerous avenues opens for advancement of the society.Also various flaws are created during this process. Socio-economic reformers or stalwarts may or may not speak about these.But this do not move the people until a scandal creates a riot.However pragmatic a society might be, unless confronted with the situation of a problem it doesn’t tend to pay attention to it.In 1970s Watergate scandal of US led to resignation of the then President Richard Nixon.The scandal was about breaking in into Watergate building of Washington DC and prowlers traced back to Nixon's re-election campaign.Though he claimed he had no prior knowledge of the espionage later he had to resign because he had been speaking for his party.The whole scandal led to change in the operations of the US government.A large section of the people are affected when a scandal is exposed.Common men do not have much to pay heed to social reformers or leaders.When a scandal comes up it becomes the common and primary challenge for a huge part of the society.Another scandal that popped into my head is the case of Satyam Computers. The people of the society didnot know about the fraudulent activities of the chairman of the company, Ramalinga Raju, until in 2009 who was caught for falsifying and manipulating the company's account by 1.47 billion dollars.He had to give resignation immediately.

Another imminent scandal was the food grain scam of Uttar Pradesh (2002-2010) where the distributors had sold of food grains worth of Rs.35,000 crore, for the below poverty line(BPL), in open markets.This scam effected a huge section of the Indian society.The government of India's attempt to remove poverty from the society was not a full-proof idea.The government had spent millions on giving away food grains to low income groups at subsidized prices. But no proper accounting and auditing was done in this process. That led to such a big scandal.This affected a huge section of the society especially the low income groups.They started questioning the government.However these issues were not in the form of a scam, issues like allocation of resources would not have been of much concern to the people.

Thus, scandals play a pivotal role in addressing certain significant issues of the society.It is the responsibility of the society to bring out the best out of these situations so that the society grows stronger.Scandals may be seen as a malaise but what is more important is the lesson it drives home.Scandals reveals weaknesses of the society, but at the same time the society must bear the onus of such weaknesses and strive towards extricating itself from the realms of such issues and emerge as a stronger entity.Only then can the civilization progress.