Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

if we go about thousand years back and ask anyone, education would be more about grooming an individual how to live and survive in this planet. education, nowadays, is all about getting an academic degree.

I totally agree with the fact that schools should do more regarding the non-academic aspects of life. The kind of education given in schools today do not teach a student, for example, how to deal with a situation in which one's embarrassing photos reach you through social media, how to deal with the mental stress during work, how to confront a person who just robs you and how to make yourself healthy physically.

These are the examples of situations that every teenager might face in his/her adulthood, or maybe even in the teenage. I have myself been in such situations and have wondered what to do. All my years of education did not help me. what's its true purpose then?

Not just this, schools should also encourage students to learn beyond classrooms by giving them opportunities that can shape their future. All those classroom competition of marks and grades have just left them with their competitive nature even in their adulthood. Everyday, one competes against another. Publishing research work has become a competition. collaboration has reduced, but what people are more interested is to increase their number of publications to make name of their own or their own organization.

However, if their schools had given up on their classroom based learning and focused on taking them outside to industries or give them extra-curricular activities, giving them a collaborative project work, things might have changed. These things very much reflect on a person's behaviour and how he can turn out to be as an adult.

To conclude, students should be made realized that it is not solely the academic part that matters in an education, which is reflected as an end result, but the journey itself matters. The journey teaches one a lot. if it does not include teaching students how to be responsible and face challenges in their adulthood, then all we would see is a generation that is even worse than the millennial.