Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The unprecedented power acquired by the humanity brings numerous questions about our responsibilities into the existence. Such as the question, should we try to impede the possible extinction of the endangered species? Although it seems like a noble pursuit, the society shouldn’t try to save the endangered animal species unless the reason behind the extinction is the humanity due to three specific reasons.

First of all, saving the endangered species requires extreme amount of resources, and the resources spent would get wasted in future since the species will diminish when the aegis provided by the society flag. The extinction causes can be bifurcated into two categories: human-made and natural. The latter one, natural causes, are not the factors that are not brought into existence suddenly, and they can be understood as the gradual changes in the habitat that are not congenial for the survival of the species that are diminishing. Additionally, they can’t be reversed without harming the habitat since they are inherent aspects of it. Therefore, it is not possible to save a species from extinction eternally, the human intervention can place the extinction to a state of abeyance, but that is all that can be done. Henceforth, trying to save a species from extinction is a rather extravagant and petty way to spend resources; hence it is inadvisable.

Certainly, one can claim that the species can be placed on another habitat that supports them, and thus can be saved. However, this act, almost certainly, might be detrimental to other species living in the habitat that the endangered species are migrated. Consider an area where the main predators are the hyenas and the prey are the deer, and a pack of wolves that are endangered are placed into the region. Hunting by the wolves may decrease the number of deer or make them faster by hunting the slower deer, and implicitly harm the hyena population. This situation creates a conundrum which coerces us to choose which species are more valuable than the other. Remembering that we are also a species and not gods and hindering ourselves from intervening could be the wisest choice.

Moreover, a forced migration event might cause irreversible changes on the ecosystem that would turn the habitat into a desert. If not intervened by the man, the changes of the ecosystems occur very slowly and gradually. A sudden addition of a new species may cause to a huge and unpredictable changes that’d harm the ecosystem and exterminate the some of the species. As an example, imagine a forced migration of a bug species to an ecosystem. It is possible that the plants, who had numerous protections against the inveterate species of the bugs, couldn’t protect themselves from the new bug species. This may cause the extirpation of the several plant species which are keystones of an ecosystem, and the ecosystem itself can collapse. Even though the example given may look rather exaggerated, the regular luggage checks in the international airports to make sure there are no possible living organisms or seeds, is a testament of the possible disasters.

To sum it up, despite the fact that ardor to save a species from the extinction is a noble pursuit, militating against a natural process like this one requires extreme resources, and the victory gained is an ephemeral one at best since the opponent faced is a behemoth. Moreover, forcing the habitat to help the species to survive may disturb the natural balance, could harm more species than it helped, and can turn our ephemeral victory into a pyrrhic one. Thus, the society shouldn’t intervene a natural extinction event.