Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure

that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that

government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

“Artistic soul often navigate the delicate balance between their boundless creativity and the practical realities of financial existence.” Arts and funding share a complex and interconnected relationship, as the financial support available for the arts significantly impacts the accessibility, sustainability and growth of artistic endeavors. Adequate funding plays a vital role in nurturing and expanding the artistic landscape in various ways. So, I mostly agree with the belief that government funding is necessary to ensure the flourishing of the arts and its accessibility to all people for several reason.

Many artistic endeavors would be struggled to exist unless adequate funding is provided to them. Artist, particularly in marginal communities, often face financial obstacles that impede their ability to focus fully on their artistic creativity. In the late 20th century and onwards, the advent of digital technology has had a profound impact on the arts. The availability of computer, internet, digital tools revolutionized artistic creation. Hence, it compels the artist to be on equal footing to pull through this competitive market. By providing funding, the government can help level the playing field and create opportunities for artists who might otherwise be overlooked or unable to pursue their artistic aspirations.

In addition, for the production of large scale projects which require significant resources government funding is required. It can benefit both the public and the artist. For instance, ‘Shilpokola art exhibition’ can be organized to showcase and promote artistic talent, cultural diversity and creative expression. It provides artist to display their art to wider audience, allowing them to gain recognition and potentially sell their artwork. These funds can be used to cover various expenses associated with organizing an exhibition.

People are not born with equal facilities. The government funding can encourage the people from each background and promote cultural cohesion. It can, thereby, enrich society as a whole by preserving authenticity of traditional art from diverse background. The art can play a vital role in shaping our identity and facilitating the exchange of idea. So government funding can assure that the facilities of art is accessible to everyone.

There is an argument that government funding can pressurize the integrity of the art. There might be political interference on the freedom of the artist. They claimed that government may dictate the types of art would be worthy of support which will potentially impede the creativity of the artist. These claims have not been convincingly refuted. Therefore equality should be maintained between government funding and artistic autonomy to prevent the deterioration of artistic expression.

The government funding may impair the integrity of the arts yet the pragmatic view demonstrate the necessity to ensure the flourishment and accessibility of arts. In order to restrain the integrity of the art, transparent and independent fund allotment mechanism should be established. It is crucial to safeguard artistic autonomy as well as the diversity of artistic expression.