Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure

that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that

government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Arts show us creativity of human beings. It is a medium of non-verbal language that shows us cultures, stories, artistic skills and so on. Arts preserve culture and brings empathy among people. So, government funding of arts is a must to ensure its positive diffusion in a society. Though it hinders the innovation and independence of artist mind still it is needed for present world.

Artist mind is full of creativity. Unfortunately, arts are not financially facilitated in society. As a result, artists get demotivated about their arts. So, to ensure nurturing the creativity of artists funding from government would help a lot. For example, Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan built ‘Taj Mahal’, which is one of the 7 wonders of the world and a beautiful representation of artist mind. This not only preserved the Mughal culture but also it makes us to think how innovative a human mind can be. Pyramids from Egypt, Greek sculptures also teaches us the same things. These examples also show us why funding is important for flourishing arts and making it available for human.

Although funding comes with some drawbacks, funding kills the emancipation of artistic human mind and make the artists economically dependent on government. Artists may also face lack of innovation due to funding. But in a modern society like today, where arts are not appreciated these things become very silly. So, to keep the artistic minds alive and flourishing in the society, funding from government can be a powerful medium.

Some may argue about the influence of funding on the freedom of arts and economically dependence of artists. But an artistic mind cannot be nurtured without paying the due respect or ensuring healthy life and social wellbeing. So, I strongly agree with government funding to the arts to ensure flourishing and making it available to all.