The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its

rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Welfarism is an intricate part of a nation in which measures a nations economic condition and how its role in standard of living of every citizen. The prompt suggests that the welfare of a nation is the greatest indicator of its status as a great nation. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the fact that a nation is noted as “great” based on its citizen welfarism for three reasons.

Firstly, what is the relevance of rulers, artist and scientist achievement if it has no positive significance on the citizens welfarism. In a nation where the elite achievements are basically restricted within their circle and has no relevance on the overall welfarism of its nation. For example, a nation that produces scientist who discovered a great cure for an epidemic disease and monetize this cure such that it is accessible to other nations recognized as a worthwhile achievement whereas, the citizens of such nation can barely afford this vaccine, hence, a major decline in their welfare dur to this. This scenario indicates that such nation is far from being great because the citizens are lacking.

More so, a great nation encourages immigration of foreign nationals due to an opportunity of an enhanced standard of living. Most immigrant tends to move to a new country due to prospect of such country in enhancing their standard of living. Most developing nations tends to migrate to developed nations in a bid to settle in a country where their welfarism will be adequately enhanced. This is a major consideration for immigrants and not the achievements of the rulers, artists and scientist. This critically shows that a nation is considered great and worthy of migrating to if its citizen welfarism is a priority.

Perhaps, it could be argued that a country like Jamaica is rated globally due to the world record set by sportsman, however, has that served as a major source of migration to the country? It didn’t facilitate other nationals to relocate to this country because it is not a yardstick for measurement of great nation. Therefore, great nations like USA, Japan, United Kingdoms are considered great due to their contribution in providing adequate welfarism to their citizens which will foster artist and scientist achievement, thus, making a ruler competent and attain overall achievement.