In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An important contribution is such that enhances an overall development of a concept, opens up possible opportunities or brings up new ideas that can help enhances the concept and its unknown potentials. The prompt concludes that beginners have a higher possibility to make relevant contributions that the expert in the field. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement that expert has lesser tendency of making important contributions due to three main reasons.

Firstly, in order to make any important contribution in any field, it is important to understand the intricate part of the field. It requires understanding the trend in that field and how to better in traduce a new idea and its consequence. This description rightly suits an expert, the experts already understand the intricate part of the field and where there is a gap, hence, making it easier to make a contribution that will be important. For instance, a professor of animal science already understands what is lacking in the livestock industry let’s say “nutrition” and has read a lot of researches in that area has higher potential of making an immense contribution when compared to a graduate student who is just learning the basics of livestock nutrition.

More so, any important decision which a beginner wants to make will still have to pass through an expert because the beginner still need an expert who will encourage and even explain the relevance of the contribution he is making, this indirectly means that the expert still plays a key factor in making this contribution a reality. For example, a graduate student who is on the verge of making a huge discovery on quantum mechanics for example will be doing this under the tutelage of an expert who will guide his step and enhance that the result is obtained through the right mean, hence, the expert still plays a crucial role in this contribution and will be acknowledged.

It might be argued that a beginner has this fresh mindset of seeing things from a different perspective thereby making discoveries that will enhance vital contribution to such field. However, this fresh mindset will still use to grasp the basics and fundamentals of the field he is just entering, therefore, by the time he has grasp these fundamentals, then he can no longer be regarded as a beginner and has advanced. Therefore, any contribution he makes cannot be regarded as a beginner input. Therefore, important contributions can on ly be made by people who has been in the field and understands the needs and gaps to be filled.