A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

Education is an indespensible cog in a person's life. The 21st century is the age of advancements. To get along with this rapid growth of technology, one has to be well-versed in all the aspects of life. The value of education nowadays has grown heaps and bounds. Everyone today is expected to be aquanited in every field. So knowledge of only a particular discipline, will not help in overall development of oneself. It is neccesary to have a broader picture in mind while studying any topic. On that note, I agree with the author that specialized study does not help , expoloration of all the courses is required to gain an overall knowledge and develop a good understanding.

University education is a combination of various studies coming together. A person who has gained knowledge only about ones specialized field, although successful in that field, but wont be able to sustain in the longer run. For instance consider the healthcare sector. Back in time, we did not have the knowledge from the fields of science, and techniques like data science, artificial intelligence incorporated in this sector. But now due to these inclusions, we have a much broader spectrum and a much enhanced path to acheieve what we want. Likewise, the university education not only focuses on one subject or literal but it enhances our overall ability to look at things.

Similarly, the field of liberal arts does not harm any career but in fact complements it. In the words of Peter J Drucker in today's world the literate are those who can "learn, unlearn and relearn". A course in Liberal arts does not prepare for a student's first job but for an entire career. The applicability of the idea in a broad spectrum is what defines its true greatness and to get a perspective of how the ideas are useful in other disciplines one must have some if not extensive knowledge of many fields.

Therefore, in conclusion the collective knowledge from various fields is what makes one successful. Focusing only on a particular field will only restrict one's growth in other aspects of life and hinder one's progress. All disciplines have humble beginnings and to ignore those roots is not right.