People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

‘Follow your heart, but remember to take your brain with you’ is a well-known saying that recommends logical thinking before jumping to emotional conclusions, in real-life situations. The prompt claims that people who make choices based on their feelings, then attempt to logically justify them later, are poor at making decisions. In my opinion, I agree with this sentiment to a certain extent. There may be some situations, in fact, where one's emotions could result in good decisions. However, judging the validity of the prompt's claim would require us to delve into two main points.

First, humans are emotional beings, and as humans we constantly find ourselves in situations where logic conflicts with our feelings, and we are forced to pick one, then try and adjust the other. What does this mean? Consider the Turkish general elections of 2023: The people overwhelmingly voted in favour of the incumbent president, Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Most of these voters cite that they strongly believed in his values, and felt that he should continue to be the president. Culture wars and other debates aside, a curious fact about this election is that the Southern provinces of Turkey which were hard hit by the Syrian-Turkish earthquakes of 2023 voted strongly in favour of Erdogan, despite heavily delayed government-funded rescue services. They chose their candidate solely based on their feelings, without laying down the logic first. The logic that does happen to appear later is based on the portrayal of competing candidates painted by Erdogan, due to the nature of the media bodies being essentially a government extension, as found by most external journalists. However, did the voters think about what the government's response would be, in the event of another earthquake? Did they logically think about whether their preferred candidate would mitigate a potentially worse natural disaster in the future, and if the current government really did their best in the previous one? As we can see, such kinds of logical reasoning are important, especially in the democratic process. This 'Turkish' issue is simply a microcosm of humans as a whole; we are extremely susceptible to falling back on our emotions when making decisions, and good decisions are significantly more likely to arise when we first build a foundation of logic.

Another thing to consider about the kind of people described in the prompt, is that, such people make the assumption that their feelings are true, and that logic will naturally follow from it always. If the heart says 1 + 1 = 3, then there must be a way, surely, right? But we cannot always just go with gut-feelings. Such leaps of faith have their time and place; in a situation where there is no time whatsoever to evaluate logic. Consider the case of students picking what discipline to major in, at college. If they do so solely with emotion, just based on what subjects they like, they may enter a field where the job market is small, and their degree may be in vain. Had they logically considered some kind of middle ground between their interests and the current state of the job market, they would be in a much better place in their career. This goes to show that logic is not something to push for later: Critical decisions that could be life-defining require thorough reasoning. It is not often that we must make decisions within seconds, and given the time available, one should logically evaluate possible outcomes of decisions before committing to a choice.

In conclusion, this issue is not a black-and-white one, and has no easy answers. In situations where there is not much time to make a decision, gut-feelings could pay off more than reasoning it out; the time wasted in the initial steps of logic could instead be used to utilise one's emotions to figure something out. Sure, it would be convenient to be able to use logic for everything. But after all, we are human, and must consult our feelings in the situations that demand it. Hence, people who make decisions based on emotion and then justify those decisions with logic afterwards would, on average, be relatively poor decision-makers, albeit there is room for further debate.