To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether to understand the important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. Indisputably, major cities do offer many insights into the characteristics of a society. Nevertheless, one must study the smaller cities to gain complete understanding of a society. As a result, I generally disagree with the opinion that one must study the major cities to understand the important characteristics of a society and I would argue that just by studying about the major cities of a society will not help to understand the important characteristics.

First of all, the development across the major cities of the world looks similar as a result of intermingling of various societies in which people travelling far and wide in search of better opportunities and lifestyle, making the society an urban place and not an indigenous living in the city. I would like to point out that, to discover the unique history, religion, traditions, culture and heritages of a society, smaller communities are more likely to keep the traditions through generations. To illustrate, Lagos is a major city in which people are coming in from different background and origins. t would be a little harder to have a certain characteristics perceiving by a society. John Wooden said "it's the little details that are vital. Little things make big things happen".

Furthermore, rather than focusing a study on a major city to understand the characteristics developed from a society, villages will be more sensible sample. this would be more efficient as it has developed long-lasting characteristics from their ancestors and it would really help to understand the important characteristics of a society.

In summary, to get the deeper understanding of the important characteristics of a society, one must study smaller communities rather than studying the major cities to understand the important characteristics of a society.