To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether to understand the important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. Indisputably, major cities do provide many insights into the characteristics of a society. Nevertheless, one must study the smaller cities to gain a complete understanding of a society. As a result, I generally disagree with the opinion that one must study the major cities to understand the important characteristics of a society and I would argue that just studying the major cities of a society will not help to understand the important characteristics of a society.

First of all, the development across the major cities of the world looks similar as a result of the intermingling of various societies in which people are travelling far and wide in search of better opportunities and lifestyle, making the society an urban place rather than an indigenous living in the city. I would like to point out that, to discover the unique history, religion, culture, tradition and the heritages of a society, smaller communities are more likely to retain the traditions through generations. To illustrate, Lagos is a major city in which many people are coming in from different background and origins. It would be a little harder to have a certain characteristics perceiving by a society. John Wooden said "it is the little details that are vital. Little things make big things happen".

Furthermore, rather focusing a study on a major city to understand the characteristics developed from a society, villages would be more important sample. this would be more efficient as it has developed long lasting characteristics from their ancestors and it would really help to understand the important characteristics of a society.

In summary, to get a deeper understanding of the characteristics of a society, one must study the smaller communities rather than studying the major cities of a society to understand the important characteristics.