To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

What is a Society? It refers to city or town or an area where people of similar or different characteristics live together.

For example If one chooses to transfer from one society to other society. In that case person does a research about the area regarding facilities,climatic conditions,accomodation and availbility of grocery shops , malls near by and culture of the people living in that area, attractions of cities surrounding, famous areas and knowing some of the importance of cities .

So In the similary way, I say that To understand the characteristics of society, one must study its major cities.

Studying the cities always benefits in knowing the characteristics of society either its good or bad. If we donot not study about cities we may not completely understand characteristics. For example, there may be a case where you need to purchase an item say washing machine so you start by vehicle and searched the entire society but you could not find .The real reason was that there are no shops available which sell washing machine in that society and came to know that you have to travel to some other city to buy it. So In this case you can tell that without studying cities you have wasted a lot of time searching for it.

There may be many such cases like one day people in the society people suddenly disappear in the early morning and you came to know that they all went to a city nearby where there is a big musical festival will be conducted every year where famous music directors also come and search for young talent by placing auditions and many competitions will be conducted. So this place will be huge scope for musicians, food stalls, auto drivers and some tent houses for earning during the festival. But you are the person who own a food stall and because you didn't know about the festival you have lost the opportunity to earn money.

I conclude that it is important to study major cities of the society to understand the characteristics of the society.So that you don't miss out opportunities , or having fun etc.