Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field

of study.

University is a place where a student can broaden their perspectives towards their interests, optimize their time to explore talents and decide a path for themselves. Universities should offer and encourage participation courses beyond curriculum and students should also actively participate and explore. Career based education is solemn perhaps it does teach you many essentials of life.

Extra curricular or Co-curricular can be in any field ranging close to area of study or polar opposite. For an instance, a graduate on engineering can take up a course in business management or music, painting, history, economics, etc. This broadens an individuals knowledge and awareness of things around them. Knowledge no matter how or in which field never goes waste. Learning about how to manage a business along with majoring in a particular stream of engineering opens door for newer and better job profiles , better salary or a confidence to startup a new venture all by themselves. Having exemplifying that, learning painting which is very contrasting to the field of engineering may still enhance a person’s life. It is not necessary that every course taken up for trial or passion should get converted into a pay cheque.

Many Researches have also stated that pursuing something beyond career fields, helps in mental, emotional ,spiritual and physical well being of a person. It gives one an opportunity to take break from their field to refresh their mind. It not only helps them in keeping their mental health on check, but helps in better performance in their careers.

In order to conclude my stance on the issue I firmly agree with the authors take that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses. It may not necessarily reap the benefits as soon as taken up but surely someday in life.