Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study

Universities are established institutions whose main objectives is to train people in various roles regarded as important for the society. Through tertiary institutions, Doctors , engineers , scientists and many more professionals are trained. Universities have different study programs for each specific career path. In each program, students are required to undertake specific courses designed for the programs. Many people are of the view that, in order to produce well rounded graduates, students ought to take additional courses outside their specialization. While the intentions of this proposal are well intended, adding extra courses for students will be counterproductive as it will overburden students with more work, affect their ability to be experts in their desired fields and negatively affect their performances in the core courses.

“Jack of all trades and a master of non” a famous maxim that comes to mind in this debate. The whole person if specialization is to produce experts in various fields. Experts are made through studying only relevant courses. for example, a medical student is trained to be a doctor by only concentrating on studying medical related courses. Adding other courses unrelated to medicine will mean using the time and effort to study those courses which would have been used to further improve their medicine practice. in the same way tasking an engineering student to rake extra courses, in music for example will mean they spend less time perfecting their skills in their main field of study. China, changed their education system to a more specialized system and the country now produces the best experts in almost all fields. Other countries will the highest standards of education also only require their students to study their specific courses related to their programs.

Another key point to consider is that of time constraint. On average, students in universities study at least six courses per semester. This means spending at least 16 hours a day learning and studying course materials. Students have little time to rest and for leisure activities. Adding more courses to an already overburdened student will be counterproductive. These courses are clearly not a priority, there is no logical reason to add more courses to an already cumbersome schedule which may affect the performance of students. In Japan, Universities reduce the workload of the students requiring the students to take only courses that are vital to their fields. As a result, Japan has only of the highest graduate rate and the best employees in the world.

Moreover, choices of study is made according to ones ability. A person will enroll in university to study Mathematics because thats what they passionate about and thats what they good at. requiring such a person to study some other courses which they may not be good at will negatively affect their person . In the same way if a person is to enroll in music and that then they required to study mathematics , they are likely to record poor performances. Most developed countries have recognized that students are motivated when they study what they enjoy and according to their abilities. Sweden , encourages students to enroll in a field of study according to their passion and the passing rate is exceptionally high.

some would argue that the idea of students learning extra courses is beneficial . The idea is that it is easier to change careers because of the knowledge acquired through the extra courses. True that some do change professions later in their careers. However, this is insufficient to impose the mandate of taking extra courses. Changing a career will mean they are inadequately trained for that new profession. They would have taken a handful of courses which would not have fully trained them .Further university training would still be required. Therefore, this argument is not sufficient.

In conclusion, the idea to introduce extra courses not related to the field of study for students will overburden the students with more work, negatively affect their performance. In order to continue producing more experts in their respective fields, universities should only give students courses related ti their study programs