Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

it is true that taking coursese outside the student's field of study can help studnets to broaden their outlook and better understand the world around them. it would certainly a good quality education experience. However, forcing them to take a variety of courses besides their focus area is a different probelm. universities should think carefully about the enforcement's effect that might detract from the depth of students' major study and distract from students' effort.

every student as an individual has a varied purpose of their study and their own ability in a universtiy. While some are interested in learning relevant field ouside their field of study, others excel in a specific field and want to dig into the primary field of study, taking other courses in a different field sounds benefitial for some student, but basically, it is inevitable to hinder the depth of each field of study during limited academic years. At least in order to respect all the purpose of students, the decision of the direction where they are heading to with their study should rest with students.

As everyone knows, the qaulity of university education is so high and every programs are generally designed for students to prove their capability and understanding of the courses via demanding tests, If universtities require the same burden of the study in other fields as their major, students are bound to put their effort and time into the courses they are not familiar with or are not good at, and it is inefficient and can distract from their major study.

To maximize the benefits of the enforcement, universities should be done in a flexible way that the requriement leave as an optional for student who are interested in the courses and consider the relevance between thier major and knowledge from different fields. Or requiring the courses that are tangentely related to their major would sound reasonable and work for every student. In that ways, universtities can provide a diverse range of a field of study for student and respect all students' purpose of study and ability.