University students should take courses beyond their field of study.

The prompt recommends that students of any field of study in university take courses beyond the boundaries of their academic discipline. The benefits of doing so are to help college undergraduates and graduates understand their subject in the context of the real world and its relevant implications, allow the students to explore academics beyond their usual scope, and meet new people who might not think alike. This especially pertains to the working environment and its requirement for flexibility. This essay will discuss the three above mentioned points, in the context of the working conditions in companies, in an argumentative manner.

Firstly, as the global atmosphere is becoming ever more interconnected, recent university graduates will be faced with the task of communicating across boundaries. Students who just enter the workforce will, if left to their main discipline in university, find it difficult to cope with the combination of different fields in the development of, e.g. a relevant product in a business. However, enticing young people who are just entering the work-environment to prepare the skill-set of overdimensional thinking during their years at college, where learning from mistakes and improving are more acceptable and have less grave implications, will allow these students to make use of their acquired cutting-edge expertise in the real world.

Secondly, exploring academics beyond the specific field of knowledge can grow a person in an intrapersonal way. People who have the privilege to explore different subject fields may grow an awareness of strengths they may not have thought to have had. For example, someone who pursues a degree in mathematics at university might benefit from taking courses in business administration, as this will help the person face important decisions about, for instance, handling employee grievances or relevant supply chain issues that must be solved. Generally, allowing a person to acclaim technical and human skills is crucial in succeeding in today's modernized world.

Finally, as part of college is to create a more open person, meeting new people from different aspects of academia could potentially develop the personal understanding of different types of personalities. THis comes as people of the same or similar subject field usually exhibit likewise behavioral patterns, while people from different disciplines might reason in other ways. For instance, a person who studies history might be very articulate and argumentative, open-ended in their approach and extroverted, as opposed to a person who pursues a degree in the fields of natural sciences- as the latter might be rather quiet, introverted and deeply concerned about technicalities of details. In the outside world, these people would frequently interact on projects. Thus learning to understand how to interact before meeting the real world may cause a greater degree of efficiency and lower the risks of failure.

In summary, this essay discussed three crucial arguments as to why students should see beyond their field of study and the benefits- avoidance of problems- that lie within doing so. The essay specifically discussed the interpersonal, intrapersonal skills and the skill of understanding how other people may interact with each other in the context of a globalized world and its general standards for the workplace.