As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Pundits are people with massive amount of knowledge on all or any field of expertise. This means that they have the capacity to make things more comprehensible rather than making things more complex. In most cases, a person’s knowledge is trusted only when he makes things more understandable to others. If knowledge acquired by someone is abstruse to the person himself, there would be nothing useful by gaining that knowledge. The argument mentioned could be disagreed with in many cases of daily life.

Acquiring knowledge about an issue means gaining a better understanding on the issue. The more you get to know about something, the less obscure the issue must look to you. If that is the case, then you are acquiring that knowledge with a purpose. For example, if there is news article you have encountered while scanning a newspaper which you would like to explore, you go over the article or browse through the internet to know more about the issue. This would be coming under acquiring knowledge about the issue. In such a case, as you read more about the issue, the better you understand about it. This would be opposite to the argument mentioned.

When we look at the growth of a child to an adult, during schooling the child starts learning alphabets and basic concepts of language and science. The child only after being tested whether the knowledge acquired by him is comprehensible to him will be promoted to the next stage. As the child passes stages, they get to understand more about clearly about various scientific or other phenomena, these phenomena become less complex to them, not more mysterious.

If some knowledge a person acquires is making him/ her view things in a complex way, that means they are not gaining knowledge in the right way. This could be explained by taking the same example of the newspaper. Let’s say that you have looked at an article that discusses about a remedy for any disease. If you are not a medical professional and would like to acquire more knowledge on the concept, it is suggested to go through articles which clearly explain the fundamentals of the issue. Ignoring that, if you dwell straight into the published research paper for the remedy, you might be gaining knowledge by that would be of no use since you are just making things incomprehensible for you.

There are many students who mug information just to pass exams. This kind of knowing things should not be considered as acquiring knowledge because the person is not achieving anything by not understanding the issue in hand. There is always a right way to acquire knowledge and if not done the right way, things do get more incomprehensible than comprehensible.