Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position. Statement- Learning for learning's sake is an outdated concept. Today, education must serve an ulterior purpose and be directed towards clear goals.

A wise man once said Education is what remains when you forget all what you have learnt in school. Education helps lay down the base for your growth as a human being and considering this I am in complete disagreement with the statement made which says that learning for Learning's sake is an outdated concept. Today education must serve an ulterior purpose and be directed towards clear goals.

The more a person tries to understand or learn something to gain knowledge the more the person will get out of an experience rather than studying just for marks or an ulterior motive. learning with such any such motive is never beneficial but always detrimental to the person as the learning here is superficial. There is no thought process behind it and hence the person gets the knowledge only at a superficial level he would not not be able to do an in depth analysis of what he has learnt he may not be able to grasp the crux of the subject or topic and such half baked knowledge would be of little use to him as he would never understand the correct way of using the knowledge he has gained.

The second flaw I found here is that the statement says learning for learnings sake is an outdated concept. Nothing can be farther from truth than this, learning for learning's sake is for sure a pretty difficult task in today's consumeristic world where everyone believes that he or she should get something in return for every task performed but it is for dure not an outdated process. Learning for gaining knowledge helps you understand the right way of learning, it helps you develop a passion for learning by which you would always be keen to enhance you knowledge by trying to learn something new, you began to enjoy the process of learning and dwell into various unknown domains. A strong and sound education along with an habit and an appetite for learning helps you stay in synch in this fast changing world.

This brings us to another point where the statement says that education must be directed towards clear goals. Todays world is full of uncertainties and you cannot be sure about the field i which you will pursue your career or a field in which you will stay lifelong in todays world there are many domains and field which are on the verge of being redundant and hence you might have to adapt to these sudden changes and change you field. Such a smooth adaptation is not possible without learning the process to learn and surely this cannot be learnt by the process of having very clear goals right from the start. As due to some sudden development it might be possible that those goals for which you were learning are now redundant thereby placing you in a jeopardy.

Yes while I agree that one must have some goals while being educated so that one can limit the scope of education it is equally wrong to limit your entire education and process of learning to that scope. As learning never ends its goal is not to help you make you reach to a certain position but to help you become a better person who can bring a positive change in the society. I would like to end my rebuttal of this statement by one sentence Education is not only necessary to reach at the top education is equally necessary to be at the t