Is freedom speech necessary in a free society?

There is no doubt that the individual freedom is one fundamental law of civilized city. Some people say that the freedom of speech is very important in a free society, while others think it might affect political work and city regimes. From my perspective, the freedom of speech is very essential to as a basic of individual right and also developing city for a number of reasons.

The freedom of speech in any society has strong effect to the stability of public. It can affect both positive and negative aspects of government work. Firstly, the freedom of speech is a great way to communicate between government and people. Individuals can give feedback to the government and explain what are they want. Without freedom speech from citizens, the political workers will not be able to understand what people think. Secondly, if the government muzzles residents’ freedom of speech and does not consider citizen’s problems, it will lead to conflicts and could change to rebellion.

Moreover, the freedom of speech also improves the relationship between politicians and people. Before elections, consternates need to declare their policies and give an effective speech to persuade all citizens to vote for them. Politicians can make an impression and increase a number of people who support them by using a freedom speech. On the other hand, if people are not satisfied with political work or want to debate their argument, they also can declare their opinions to politicians or government by speech.

In conclusion, the freedom of speech is very necessary to any civilization. It can help to improve the understanding between two parties. However, if the government does not pursue the freedom of speech, it will be harmful to the stabilization of political status.