12.9.2015: Fewer and fewer people walk on a daiy basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

Walking is known as one of the valuable exercises which many experts highly recommended to people for becoming healthy, however, these days, the number of walking people has dramatically decreased. While there are various reasons for this trend, some measures can be implemented to encourage people to take up walking as part of their daily routine.

There are two main reasons, in my opinion, why fewer people regularly walk nowadays. The first reason relates to the geographical distance and the fear of parents letting children go to school alone. Many families live far away from their workplaces and schools, and parents worry about the safety of their children, especially if there are busy main roads to cross to get to school. Therefore, having their private car can help them reach easier and safer, but they are becoming slaves to their cars. In addition, walking is a boring action; for instance, monotonous activities are repeated all the time by people. Therefore, people’s tendency to regularly walk is decreasing.

There are measures which could be implemented to encourage people to walk more often. Firstly, the government should upgrade the public transport system and pedestrian crossing. As a result, with better public transport systems, commuters could at least walk and cycle to the nearest station. Moreover, each month organizations can take place some competitions which attract people's attention by training with sports such as a zero-emissions day by walking or cycling to work. Players not only keep fit, and get awards but also reduce the emissions from vehicles.

In conclusion, some reasons why people are walking less regularly can be identified, and some simple solutions should be adopted to encourage them to walk more frequently.