Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking.

One school of thought holds that in this era of groundbreaking technology, human being tends to lose the habit of walking regularly. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this tendency before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle this.

There are two primary reasons as to why strolling is found mundane. Firstly, this problem stems from the advancement of state-of-the-art machines and vehicles. This is because, due to various apparatuses which are conducive to the commutation of the dweller, namely elevators and automobiles have been devised, the involvement in physical activities is no longer vital for them, thereby leading to a sedentary lifestyle of the majority of inhabitants in Vietnam, for specific. Secondly, with the rapid changes in the industrialized world, spending time walking might be seen as a time-consumed activity. For instance, instead of hiking around the parks, regardless of the severe air degradation in Beijing, the young generation is prioritizing working overtime in order to earn a remunerative salary and upgrade their living standard.

To combat this worrying issue, the following essential steps should be taken. First and foremost, the governing bodies should alleviate the citizen’s overuse of technological gadgets by raising their awareness about their hazardous impact on people's well-being such as the overweight in adolescence. Secondly, having got a deep insight into the advantages of strolling through media campaigns, dwellers are able to appreciate and contribute to making this more widespread in leaps and bounds. In addition, the more widened pavements are constructed by authorities, the more pedestrians are promoted to initiate hiking more often.

In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative phenomenon, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this issue.