6.12.2014: Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A section of society thinks the horizontal city is the best area to live in, while others believe that vertical urban is the people’s preference today. Although horizontal can brings various benefits, I still believe that high-rise cities are beneficial to both individuals and the environment.

On the one hand, there are several reasons explaining building houses on a wider area of land influences our lives. The first reason relates to the large space and the freedom, you can construct your house on larger plots as well as own a garden and a garage that you need not pay a parking fee. You can also do whatever you want and no one can see the activities of your life. Furthermore, living in horizontal areas is safer for inhabitants when some emergencies may occur. For instance, if the fire happens and quickly spread, you and your partners can swiftly escape from the danger. This is because its height is not tall, and not many people live in so it does not take much time to run and take important things.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why I still believe living in a vertical city is the best choice. Firstly, a tall city can provide homes to hundreds of families in the same structure so that there are more spaces for public activities such as hospitals, and parks. It also tackles the serious global issues called overpopulation and the shortage of accommodation. In addition, if all amenities are provided within an apartment, you will not need to take out your car for every little thing. Therefore, burning fossil fuels and unsustainable energy reduces, and little smoke being harmful to our environment is emitted.

To sum up, while living in a horizontal city does have some benefits, it seems to me that the advantages of living in a city with skyscrapers make living in a vertical city the better choice.