Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the context of the contemporary world where urbanisation and urban planning has become the universal norm, people have different views about whether living in a horizontal city or a vertical city is a better choice. While many people are in favour of horizontal cities, I am of the opinion that their vertical counterparts hold a wider appeal.

Those who prefer residing in a horizontally developed city usually ground their argument in the merit of space. This is because, in this type of settlement, residential houses are built on a wider area of land. Housing units hence tend to be more spacious and can afford residents sufficient space for their personal needs. In particular, unlike most people living in vertical cities where living space is always at a premium, many dwellers in a horizontal city can have enough space to plant a garden or even build a swimming pool in their yards. Nevertheless, it is arguable that the expansion of a horizontal city usually comes at the expense of natural habitats. In other words, increasing the number of homes and neighborhoods often results in deforestation and the destruction of natural habitats. This consequently will put wildlife at risk and threaten to disrupt the ecosystem.

In comparison to a horizontal city, I strongly believe that it is more beneficial for individuals and mankind as a whole to live in a vertical city for a number of reasons as follows. First, living in high-rise apartments proves to be an optimal measure to sustain the human population growth. Given the scarcity of land resources and the ever-increasing world population, humanity will soon run out of space to live. Therefore, the construction of tower blocks and skyscrapers, which is a dominant trait in a vertical city, can provide accommodation for thousands of residents within a small area of land, effectively slowing down the pace of land depletion. Secondly, modern apartment buildings also provide residents with great convenience and various forms of leisure activities. Indeed, those buildings are often in the form of residential and recreational complexes whereby local residents can enjoy the benefit of recreational amenities located within the premises such as cinemas and shopping centres.

In conclusion, although a horizontal city can offer inhabitants more space for personal use, as far as I am concerned, people dwelling in a vertical city can reap far more benefits. They not only enjoy a more comfortable life and greater convenience but in effect they also help towards building a more sustainable life for both humans and wildlife on earth.