With the advancement in technology, the number of computers being used in the field of education has increased. Some people believe that there will be no role for teachers in the classroom.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the technology industry has witnessed dramatic development, it is thought by some that computers will take the place of teachers in the education field. While I agree that computers are taking part in more and more aspects of education, I believe that education still needs human teachers because of their mental support.

Providing learners with personalized learning and more accurate knowledge could be regarded as two major benefits of computer-based learning. Digital learning tools can provide learners with active learning conditions in which they are free to choose the place and time to study, leading to the better acquisition of knowledge as well as academic results. Moreover, while teachers, as humans can make some mistakes during lessons, computers would always impart up-to-date knowledge accurately.

On the other hand, I believe that teachers would never lose their vital role in the classroom. To achieve much success in studying while learning with the computer, students need to have great self-discipline. However, not all students are born with this ability. Therefore, the promotion and vision of teachers are essential in classes to ensure the effectiveness of the lessons and the academic performance of learners. Moreover, although computers can provide more exact knowledge than teachers, they could not support students’ personal matters. There might not have been any computers that could help students with their financial aid, confide with students to reduce their mental problems, or visit their houses to ask about the students’ health issues.

In conclusion, although some people hold the opinion that computers could replace teachers, I totally disagree with this statement because of the indispensable human connection with students that only teachers can create.