Advertising that targets children should be banned from our televisions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that the advertisements that influence the young generation should be removed from the TV programs. I believe that some TV adverts that might impact on children’s psychology negatively should be prohibited while the ones which are informative and useful should be kept on.

Concerns over the mental and behavioural negative impacts of ads on children are ever growing among parents. The advertising companies employ teams of psychologists in order to find ways to manipulate people’s minds to make people buy. Admittedly, young boys and girls become easy targets. The commercials which are sought to attract children to shape the future customers are numerous. Playful music, colourful attractive pictures and repetitive catchy words influence children so they become capricious and stubborn and make their parents buy the product they have watched on a TV advert. Therefore, some influential adverts should be banned on TV.

On the other hand, there are many advertisements that provide very beneficial information. These kinds of ads help parents to stay up to date about the new versions of products and choose proper and suitable ones for themselves and for their children. For example, if one is searching for books for his children or some toys that develop children’s intellectual growth, he can buy the latest upgraded versions of these things. In this case, the prohibition of these kinds of adverts would be much more disadvantageous.

To conclude, even though some adverts might harm children and they should be prevented from, in my opinion, banning of some useful ones would bring some difficulties in society. As they say not every bitter thing is poison.