Some people believe that exercise is the key to health while others feel that having a balanced diet is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The popularity of endorsing a healthy lifestyle has spawned debates regarding important ways of keeping a healthy body. Some people point out that doing physical exercises have beneficial effects on health while others consider the balanced diet as a key to a healthy lifestyle. This essay will discuss both sides of the issue and give a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support the idea of physical exercises cite the various benefits that exercises can bring to an overall body condition of a person. First of all, regular workouts have been proved to be the best way to keep fit and to increase the physical endurance of the body. For example, a thirty-minutes running whether in nature or on a treadmill decreases cholesterol level in the blood and strengthens the muscles of the heart and limbs. In other words, the chance of heart attack and stroke reduces which, in turn, prolongs the lifespan of a person. In addition, exercises like yoga and taichi contribute to a person’s mental health relieving stress and improving work-life balance.

By contrast, proponents of a healthy diet provide legitimate arguments. As dieticians claim a balanced diet which includes five groups of foods such as protein, carbohydrate, dairy, fat, and fruit and vegetables leads to a long healthy life. For instance, the right amount of meat or fish supports muscle flexibility which is very essential for active people’s life. If the dietary requirements are not followed properly a person can experience some health issues. In fact, overeating of any food products effect in certain a part of a body negatively.

In conclusion, considering the aforementioned views, it is clear that both sides have strong arguments. However, it seems advisable that a person should lead both physically active life doing certain workouts and consume nutritious foods in order to live a long and healthy life.