The ageing population is good for business, the economy and society. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The majority of governments in developing countries usually consider their increasingly greying population as an economic and social threat. Other, however, view this phenomenon as socially and economically advantageous. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument.

In modern life, as most parents are completely occupied by their employment, grandparents are usually family caretakers and babysitters, which not only help young parents focus on work to develop their career but also moral support for their children's fully upbringing process. In a way, it can be said that ageing people also contribute to economic growth in an indirect way. Furthermore, some employers tend to hire the elder than young people and there are reasons lead to this trend. Firstly, the seniors are more experienced so they are better at making crucial decisions in emergencies. Therefore, they ofter play a vital role as advisers in economic and political organizations. Secondly, many firms want to keep those who work at a long time to transfer hands-on experience to the young.

On the other hand, Ageing population is always associated with the scarcity of workforce. Japan, Sweden and other industrialized countries are facing a severe labour crisis due to even-rising life expectancy and older population and these are pushing them to the brink of the economic downturn. In addition, an increase in the proportion of the elderly population puts greater pressure on the pension and public healthcare systems, these result in the growing burden on the government and taxpayers. Finally, there is also a direct impact on business revenues, as older people prefer saving rather than investing, particularly substantial purchases such as property and vehicles.

In conclusion, it is true that there are several problems associated with an ageing population. Nevertheless, those problems only do a little damage to the development of society. I personally think when people live longer, society as a whole will be able to reap greater benefits.