The aging population is good for business, the economy and society. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some might argue that the elderly play an integral part in the improvement of business, the economy and society, I hold the opinion that they can have an adverse effect on a country, rather than beneficial.

Granted, some people may have compelling reasons to stay optimistic about a graying population. First and foremost, hands-on experience of senior citizens is a valuable asset to economic and social development. Indeed, with their unrivaled experience and knowledge, elderly people can work as advisers in some companies, assisting businesses function more efficiently. Similarly, they may enter politics to become senators or representatives to make contributions to the betterment of the economy and society. Another advantage is that old people can back up the younger generation in their career. To illustrate, some grandparents nowadays may stay at home and take care of the children so that their parents can pay more attention to their career.

On the other hand, I believe that aging population can have some serious drawbacks which may overshadow those merits. Initially, it is irrefutable that the youth is the main workforce as they are more energetic, enthusiastic and dedicated. They are undeniably the future pillars of a country’s development. Therefore, a country with old people accounting for the majority, no matter how experienced they are, can hardly improve its economy. In addition, a graying population means more public money is allocated to their welfare service such as healthcare and pension while they are no longer in employment and do not create materials or resources for the society. This may put strain on the national budget, which already has to tackle other social issues such as unemployment or crime.

In conclusion, while many may think that business, economy and society can benefit from an aging population, I am more convinced of the detrimental impacts caused by this trend.