Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In this modern world, technology has become more and more forthcoming, which has led to the trend that a myriad of adults and the young stay at home and commence to work and learn through online platforms. From my perspective, this definitely an adverse tendency as it triggers a multitude of issues.

First and foremost, the health of both youngsters and adults can be deteriorated. To work and to study online means that people have to be exposed to the computer or any smart device's screen, which results in worsened eyesight and more bespectacled people is the testament to this consequence. Second, this trend degenerates the maturing of children. Frequent exposure to computer screens contributes to obesity in the young, especially adolescents as they are in the period of changing into adults, and their bodies do not functionally work. On the other hand, this trend encourages the immature one to be addicted to computer games. It is this culprit that leads to aggressive behavior in some children. Last but not least, the relationship between people is debased due to the heavy reliance on digital-based devices. People fancy chatting with their friends but detest meeting face to face for some reason such as bad appearance or laziness.

The opposite side may put forward a view that online platforms also provide an application to assist people in meeting directly like video calls. However, this thinking is flawed because almost all the applications supply users with filters in order to make them more good-looking, which causes false impressions among people.

In conclusion, in spite of the merits of online working and learning, the demerits of that outweigh the counterpart. Personally, I prefer studying with interaction among people and I highly recommend others to adopt the similar.