Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

People have different views about staff members and students have a tendency to work and study from home thanks to cutting-edge technology. While there are some drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that there are some benefits for both employees and students to do their jobs and have their classes at home.

To begin with, it cannot be not denied that working from home has some negative effects on the employees' working and the students' learning . Firstly, due to technological advances and breakthroughs, most employees can access various applications such as Zoom, Microsoft Teams to have meetings with their colleagues instead of face-to-face conversation. This leads to preventing the employees from interacting with other members through tasks which require brainstorming and working in teams. Secondly, studying from home may lack students' motivation from their teachers and classmates, which results in reducing students' learning performance and achievement.

However, I believe that it would be better for staff members and students to work and study at home. The first reason is that employees do not need to waste time and money on travelling and transportation, which helps them to avoid facing traffic congestion in peak hours. Therefore, they are more inclined to work with full power and high energy, which indirectly benefits firms where those employees work. Additionally, online studying makes students feel more comfortable and convenient than traditional classroom. For instance, they do not need to wake early in the morning to go to the school and start studying from home with a fresh mind and full of energy.

In conclusion, while adults and children may have difficulty working from home, I would argue that home-based working is the best opportunity for them to balance their jobs or studying and personal life.