Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, more and more people prefer teleworking or studying online thanks to the advancement of technology. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this change are overweight its advantages. This essay aims to discuss both sides and explain my view.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that one of the benefits of working and studying from home is that parents and their children could spend time with other family members. To explain this, many adults used to stay at work offices for nearly half of their day, so they only meet their kids at dinner. In contrast, if individuals worked and studied online, they could gather more frequently, which would help minimize the generation gap between parents and children. Moreover, staying at home is an ideal way to protect the environment. This is because a large amount of smoke from cars would decline if the number of work- at-home employees increased.

On the other hand, I think this development could lead to adverse effects on people’s health. The first reason is that although they may have online conferences or classes, they still rarely interact with their colleagues or friends. As a result, many people would be depressed since they have to experience loneliness. The other compelling reason is that the quality of e-learning and teleworking cannot be as effective as face-to-face ones. To be more specific, most people are less likely to participate in the online classroom or online meeting. For example, some students might turn off their cameras and do personal things such as watching a movie or using social media.

To conclude, although there are some benefits of working and studying from home, I strongly believe that this is a negative development since it could affect people’s health and reduce the quality of learning and working.