The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Getting stuck in the long line of vehicles is always in urgent need of optimal resolutions. It is totally agreed that a suggestion of free public transportations in 24/7 should be imposed by the governmental authorities on tackling with the traffic problems.

There is no doubt that the main cause of heavy traffic on the roads is the emerging expansion of private vehicles like cars and motorbikes. Consequently, if public buses, trains and undergrounds are free of charge, private vehicle users are more likely to switch over to public transports, which can lead to a remarkable decline in the number of transports during rush hours.

Another argument for free charging for public transports is that the provision of buses and subway can be a safe and sound solution for residents travelling without any difficulties and a fear of traffic-related death toll due to the increase in people’s attitude and awareness towards means of transportation. Take the staggering number of traffic fatalities in Vietnam as an example. Obviously, automobile and motorbike boozers, traffic hault, inadequate law enforcement, careless driving and badly-narrow street conditions contribute significantly to traffic-related deaths in Vietnam. Therefore, a frequent habit of using free public means of transports should be encouraged and carried out.

In conclusion, apart from the beneficial solution of free and all day available public transportation specifically mentioned, there is a belief that other effective solutions can be considered more in order to find out the most efficient measures to deal with traffic headache.