Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Economic development is considered the optimal solution for calling a halt to worldwide poverty and hunger while it is believed that the growth of economy is negatively affecting the natural habitat. In this essay, this controversial issue will be clearly discussed.

Obviously, the suffering from a setback of life-threatening food shortage and severe malnutrition is originally rooted in long-term abject poverty. Accordingly, a strong finance is regarded as the survival measures to tackle these global probems because developing the economy can help the government to support needy citizens. By doing so, economic industrialization can create enormous amount of job opportunities for the unemployed and the poor. Employees can feed and clothe their family and this can improve purchase power and taxes. As a result, government can allocate the budget to build social housing or dosshouses as well as provide basic needs for people in need so as to alleviate the grinding lower class people and food shortage.

On the flip side, despite aforementioned benefits of financial affairs, the remarkable increase in manufactories and industrial zones has unavoidably resulted in environmental issues. Take the scandal of water pollution caused by the monosodium glutamate producer VEDAN Vietnam on Thi Vai river as an example. According to local residents, the river used to be full of fish and extremely green until the appearance of VEDAN factories built along the bank. It discharged untreated and toxic waste into the Thi Vai river which contaminated the stretch of waterway in southern Dong Nai province and made the water no longer drinkable. Severely, the rising level of pollution in waterways also caused respiratory diseases and intestinal sicknesses among local people living there.

In conclusion, although economic growth is one of the effective solutions to alleviate the poverty and hunger globally, the economic-related eco-problems should be controlled by successful efforts of the government such as blocking and shutting down the factories that are doing harm to the green environment.